Congratulations to the winners and finalists of the Texas Tech & Learning Innovative Leader Awards who attended our Regional Leadership Summit on September 23, 2022, at TCEA Conference Center where our winners were crowned.

Our deserving winners and finalists are all mentioned below, in our article on the Tech & Learning website and interviews with our winners will be published in an upcoming issue of Tech & Learning - keep your eyes peeled!

Our winners...

Brad Stewart

Brad Stewart
CTO, Lufkin ISD

Brad Stewart is the Chief Technology Officer for Lufkin Independent School District. He began his career in Educational Technology at Corrigan-Camden Independent School District where he served as the Technology Director. In 2008, he moved to Lufkin ISD as the Director of Technology. In Lufkin he has served as the Director, Executive Director, and now Chief Technology Officer. In his role, he oversees all aspects of technology operations including infrastructure, information systems, technical services, and instructional technology. During his tenure with Lufkin ISD he has initiated and implemented various initiatives to make Lufkin ISD a leader in in technology in the area. He graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University with a B.A in Communication and Media Studies. Mr. Stewart serves as the Area 7 Director for TCEA.

Jessica Mays
Blended Learning Coordinator, Arlington Independent School District

Jessica Mays has been serving in public school education since 2001. Currently, she is the Blended Learning Coordinator for the Technology Integration and Innovation Department in Arlington ISD and is the District’s project manager for the Raising Blended Learners initiative. Prior to her arrival in Arlington, she worked for Temple ISD where she served as a Digital Learning Specialist. Jessica holds a Master of Education degree in curriculum and instruction and is a Google Certified Trainer and holds a Flipped Learning Global certification. She is a former secondary English teacher and department chair. Jessica proudly serves on the TCEA Board of Directors as the Area 11 Director. She believes in the power and promise of educational technology and personalized learning and their ability to amplify communication, elevate learning, and engage and inspire students at every level– every day.

Amy Grosso
Director of Behavioral Health Services, Round Rock ISD

Dr. Amy Grosso is the Director of Behavioral Health Services at Round Rock ISD, a large suburban district with 48,000 students. Dr. Grosso completed her Ph.D. in Counseling and Counselor Education at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She started her career as a mental health counselor with Wake Forest Baptist Health. Dr. Grosso created the Behavioral Health Services Department for Round Rock ISD including the hiring and oversight of a team of social workers providing tier three services to students and families. In addition she implemented the first ever staff social social worker to ensure support of staff. Dr. Grosso also assisted in establishing the Round Rock ISD Police Department and specifically designed how social workers work in conjunction with police officers. Dr. Grosso also serves on the National Chapter Leadership Council of American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. She co-authored the book Schoolwide Collaboration for Transformative Social Emotional Learning that came out in August 2021. Dr. Grosso often blogs amybigbeegrosso.com

Kyle Berger
Chief Technology Officer, Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District

A career school CTO for public education in Texas, Kyle Berger has over 21 years in K-12 technology leadership spread across districts of various sizes and demographics. With multiple awards such as Technology Director of the year for Texas, 2020 National Edtech Leadership winner, and Institutional Leadership award for interoperability. His work is featured in several educational technology magazines, industry case studies as well as other published books on Educational Technology. Kyle is known as a transformer of educational technology. His more than 21 years of service is full of vast experiences in one-to-one deployment, complete district revitalization and overseeing of bond programs, redefining technology in several districts, and development of State Championship Esports programs for High School Competitions. Kyle currently is a member of several corporate advisory boards, as well as, a guest speaker for educational technology transformation to corporations and school systems around the country. Currently, he serves as the Chief Technology Officer for Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, a school district of 14,000 students located in North Texas.

Our finalists...

  • Christina Campos
    Teacher/ STEM Coordinator, West Oso Junior High
  • Jay L. Barrett
    Principal, AmTech Career Academy
  • Albert Canales
    Principal, McAllen ISD/ McAllen High School
  • Brad Moser, Kelly Ott, Brian Daley, Kent Corser
    Director of Blended Learning; Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction & Innovation; Chief Information Officer; Director of Technology Operations, Blue Valley School District #229
  • Stephanie Ochoa
    Teacher of ASL and Video Game Design, Esports Coach, Tuloso-Midway High School
  • Valerie Minor
    Professional Learning Coodinator, Keller ISD
  • Mary Carmen Alvarez
    Early Childhood Director, Harlingen Consolidated Independent School District