Making the Grade: Standards-Based, Traditional, or Both?

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

3:00 PM ET I 2:00 PM CT I 12:00 PM PT

#TLTechLive

There has been a lot of conversation around the value of implementing standards-based grading in K-12 school systems. Research has shown that educators can accelerate students’ mastery of learning standards through meaningful and appropriate feedback while experience has proven implementation and buy-in from stakeholders to be common challenges. 

As schools look to move beyond a numerical or letter grade, it’s important to consider the history of points-based grading systems. Traditional points or letter-based grading has been prominent in education for decades — and for good reason given that most educators and families have a high comfort level with the language and expectations having experienced it themselves. There are also discussions around GPA, college admission processes, and more that prevent traditional grading from being “a thing of the past.” 

In this Tech & Learning webinar, Dr. Kecia Ray talks with educational leaders to discuss common grading systems utilized in K-12 schools from standards-based to traditional and hybrid grading. 

You’ll learn:

  • How different grading scales communicate student performance
  • The meaning that grades carry, whether points or standards-based
  • Student motivation — is it tied to a specific grading policy?
  • Best practices for second chances, zeroes, averaging, and more across grading systems

 

All attendees will receive a 'Certificate of Completion' from Tech & Learning, which can be used towards one hour of Professional Development. 

Plus, enjoy a coffee on us! Attendees working in the education sector will receive a $5 Starbucks coffee voucher once they've attended as a thank you.*

Speakers:

SPONSORED BY